Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join APTR
APTR Directory Search

3/2/2020 » 3/4/2020
Teaching Prevention 2020




APTR Awards

Each year, APTR honors the most distinguished individuals and programs in the field of prevention and public health education. Through their dedication, the awardees exemplify the goal of advancing education and serving the community. They are honored at the APTR annual meeting,TEACHING PREVENTION 2020: Fostering Population Health & Advancing Prevention Science, during the APTR Annual Meeting Luncheon on March 3, 2020.

Duncan Clark Award

Presented to an APTR member with a distinguished record of achievement in the areas of teaching, research and/or advocacy in the field of public health and preventive medicine. This award is named after a founding member of the association.  View Past Duncan Clark Awardees

 F. Marian Bishop Educator of the Year Award 

Recognizes educators who have contributed to the instruction of students or residents in the field of public health and preventive medicine. In reviewing the nominations, APTR membership and accomplishments related to teaching are considered. Accomplishments related to research are also considered. View Past Marian Bishop Educator Awardees

Outstanding Educational Program Award

This award honors an innovative program, department or academic institution for advancing undergraduate or graduate medical education in prevention and public health which furthers students interest in the discipline. View Past Program Awardees

Special Recognition

The Special Recognition Award recognizes an individual agency, or organization that has provided outstanding service to the Association, its members or to the field of prevention and public health. View Past Special Recognition Awardees

Call for Nominations 

Nomination Procedures

In order to nominate an individual and/or program please complete the online nomination form(s) and include all required supporting documents.

All nominations must include:

  • Letter of support illustrating why the nominated individual and/or program is worthy of the award.
  • Current curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • One-page biographical statement of the nominee for all but the Program Award.
  • Outstanding Educational Program of the Year Award requires a description of the nominate program.

In addition, any information that supports your reason for nomination is encouraged. This may include career, highlights, University service, honors and awards, publication and community service. The additional supporting documents, beyond the required information, should not exceed 10 pages in length (including any appendices).


  • Duncan Clark Award and F. Marian Bishop Educator of the Year Award: Nominated individual must be a current APTR Member.
  • Outstanding Educational Program of the Year Award: Department or institution of the nominated program be a current Institutional APTR Member.
  • The Special Recognition Award does not require membership in APTR.

Extended Deadline

The deadline for receipt of all nominations materials for 2020 is Wednesday, December 4, 2019.

How to Submit Nominations

Nominations must be submitted online. If you have any questions contact the Membership Department at

Selection Process

Selections are made by the APTR Awards Committee. Notifications will occur in mid-December.

1001 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 610  |  Washington, DC 20036

About APTR | Membership | Education Fund