Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join APTR
Directory Search

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »




News & Press: APTR Activities

APTR Announces the 2017 Class of Paul Ambrose Scholars

Wednesday, January 25, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

APTR is proud to announce the 2017 class of Paul Ambrose Scholars. Forty students were selected from 34 academic health professions institutions representing medicine, dentistry, nursing, pharmacy, physician assistant, and public health disciplines. The scholars will attend the Public Health Leadership Symposium in Savannah, GA from April 5-7, 2017.

The Paul Ambrose Scholars Program exposes health professions students to influential public health professionals and prepares them to be leaders in addressing population health challenges at the national and community level. Scholarships are awarded to students to conduct a community-based health education project at their institution. 

Since 2002, more than 600 students from over 220 academic institutions have become Paul Ambrose Scholars, equipped with leadership and organizational skills in public health education that can only be found outside of the classroom.

Allopathic Medicine

  • Anne Drolet, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
  • Charlene Gaw, Mayo Clinic School of Medicine
  • Gerald Gibbons, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Jordana Gilman, SUNY Upstate Medical University
  • Austin Hilt, Northeast Ohio Medical University
  • Stephanie Tran, Florida State University College of Medicine
  • Robert Weidling, University of Missouri Kansas City
  • Yan Emily Yuan, University of Massachusetts Medical School


  • Eberechukwu Njoku, University of Maryland School of Dentistry
  • Mindy Truong, Harvard School of Dental Medicine


  • Christy Adams, University of California Davis
  • Christina Baughn, Samford University
  • Mallory Bejster, Rush University
  • Jeffrey Bell, University of Cincinnati
  • Alina Kraynak, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Rebecca Mance, The George Washington University
  • Kalyca Seabrook, Columbia University
  • Melissa Silverman, Worcester State University
  • Dawn Van Ruler, South Dakota State University
  • Kari Whitney, UMass Medical School Graduate School of Nursing

Osteopathic Medicine

  • Andrew Bergloff, Pacific Northwest University
  • Pratishtha Chhabra, Lincoln Memorial University
  • Ian Coker, Midwestern University - AZCOM
  • Hayley Golek, Midwestern University - AZCOM
  • Rachael Harris, Lincoln Memorial University
  • Jason Hirshberg, Midwestern University
  • Ashruta Patel, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • David Preston, Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Srutika Sabu, Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine, Middletown
  • Nicholas Snow, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine - VA
  • Marissa Tan, University of North Texas Health Science Center


  • Fatima Ali, University of the Sciences
  • Jesus Gracia, Rosalind Franklin University
  • Mary Kasl, Creighton University
  • Marian Lyford, University of Missouri - Kansas City
  • Jasmine Sardar, Chapman University School of Pharmacy
  • Heather Shaffer, Ohio Northern University

Physician Assistant

  • Editha Setiawan, Yale University

Public Health

  • Jacob Moran, The University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Stan Sonu, Northwestern University

Sign In

What's New

1001 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 610  |  Washington, DC 20036

About APTR | Membership | Education Fund