Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join APTR
Directory Search

Immunization Resources for Nursing Education Expert Meeting

Immunization Resources for Nursing Education Expert Meeting




News & Press: APTR Activities

APTR Announces the 2014 Class of Paul Ambrose Scholars

Tuesday, April 29, 2014  
Share |

APTR announces the 2014 class of Paul Ambrose Scholars. Forty students were selected from 28 academic health professions institutions representing medicine, dentistry, nursing and physician assistant.  The scholars will attend the Paul Ambrose Student Leadership Symposium in Washington, DC June 20-22, 2014.

The Paul Ambrose Scholars Program prepares public health and clinical health professions students to address population health challenges at the national and community level. This program seeks to meet the current and future health needs of the public by providing mini-grant funds to implement a Healthy People 2020 Leading Health Indicators project within a student's community or at their academic institution. Since 2002, more than 500 students from over 160 academic institutions have become Paul Ambrose Scholars.

Allopathic Medicine

  • Gregory Snyder, Jefferson Medical College
  • Zachary Hermes, Emory University
  • Geneva DeGregorio, University of Massachusetts
  • Andy Beltran, SUNY Upstate Medical University
  • Shea Jorgensen, University of Iowa
  • Lance Braye, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Elizabeth Zane, SUNY Upstate Medical University


  • Eugen Kim, University of California - Los Angeles
  • Paul Rolfes, University of Minnesota
  • Brian Lehigh,University of California - Los Angeles
  • Mari Heslinga, University of Iowa
  • Raylien Chao, University of Minnesota
  • Marla Yee, University of Maryland
  • Matthew Mara, Boston University

Graduate Nursing

  • Lindsay Wilson, Seattle University
  • Sydney Thompson, The University of Texas Health Science Center - Houston
  • Virginia Borders, Medical University of South Carolina

Graduate Physician Assistant

  • Joan Swanson, Emory University
  • Shontelle Berfet, Seton Hall University
  • Nicole Cottle, Quinnipiac University

Osteopathic Medicine

  • Paul Robbins, Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Sarah Stokes, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Nathan VanderVinne,Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine - Virginia
  • Leia Franchini, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences
  • Austin LaBanc, Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Hannah Tilden, Midwestern University
  • Andrew Evans,Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine - Carolinas
  • Rebecca Knackstedt, Medical University of South Carolina


  • Arika Mike, University of New Mexico
  • Cara Mazzarisi, University of Pittsburgh
  • Hannah Pratt, University of Utah
  • Shiny Parsai, University of Iowa
  • Hyojin Sung, University of California - San Francisco
  • Meaghan Paris, Western New England University
  • Sana Sankari, Texas Tech University Health Science Center
  • Alyssa Wenzel, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
  • Avni Patel, University of New Mexico

Public Health

  • Zulqarnain Javed, New York Medical College
  • Jessica Cohen, New York University
  • Shilpa Venkatachalam, New York University

1001 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 610  |  Washington, DC 20036

About APTR | Membership | Education Fund