Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join APTR
Directory Search

3/2/2020 » 3/4/2020
Paul Ambrose Student Leadership Symposium-2020

3/2/2020 » 3/4/2020
Teaching Prevention 2020




2018 IPE Student Video Case Competition

APTR Interprofessional Student Video Case Competition

APTR and the Thomas Jefferson University College of Population Health held a student competition opportunity to address the Opioid Epidemic. Student teams, consisting of four (4) students, comprised of at least two (2) disciplines were given a case and were charged with creating a video presentation sharing their ideas for addressing the Opioid Epidemic. 


The case presented is fictional. However, students were asked to use this case as a basis for creating a vision of how the health care system could work better for this family and other families in a similar situation. The format is based on the CLARION case competition, hosted by the University of Minnesota 


A panel of judges evaluated the team presentations in the context of real world standards of practice. The top three (3) finalists were announced at Teaching Prevention 2018 in April and are showcased on the APTR website. APTR thanks Thomas Jefferson University College of Population Health for sponsoring the cash prizes.

1st Place - $1,200

Dayton's Opioid Epidemic: Prevention and Treatment Strategies

Wright State University

  • Anna Hayburn (Psychology).
  • Megan Smith (Medicine)
  • Elizabeth Williams (Public Health)
  • Mussa Zatreh (Public Health)


2nd Place - $800

Decriminalize, Destigmatize, Revitalize

MCPHS University

  • Clarissa-Cecile Wu (Pharmacy)
  • Enzo Prado (Medicine)
  • Amitoj Sawhney (Physical Therapy).
  • Arielle Strzelewicz (Clinical Research)


3rd Place Award - $400

No Pain No Gain

Morehouse School of Medicine

  • Kaylin Carey (Biomedical Sciences)
  • Omari Christie (Medicine)
  • Calvin Pegus (Public Health)
  • Winston Wright (Public Health)



Honorable Mention: "An Interdisciplinary Approach in Addressing the Issues that Surround the Opioid Epidemic" by Morehouse School of Medicine student-team: Raedeen Russell (Biomedical Science), Tsedey Mekbib (Biomedical Science), Adwoa Winful (Clinical Research), and Demetrius Geiger (Public Health).


Sponsored by


Sign In

What's New

1001 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 610  |  Washington, DC 20036

About APTR | Membership | Education Fund