Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join APTR
APTR Directory Search

4/9/2018 » 4/10/2018
2018 PASP Student Leadership Symposium

News & Press: APTR Activities

APTR Honors Educators in Preventive Medicine And Population Health

Monday, April 17, 2017  
Share |

The Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR) held its annual awards ceremony to honor the most distinguished individuals that have contributed greatly to the field of preventive medicine and population health.  The awards were presented on Thursday, April 6, 2017 during the APTR annual meeting, TEACHING PREVENTION 2017: Aligning Curriculum to Achieve Health Equity in Savannah, GA.  

These distinguished individuals have advanced the field of prevention and public health education. Through their dedication, the awardees exemplify the goal of advancing education and serving the community. The 2017 award recipients are:

Duncan Clark Award

Anthony L. Schlaff, MD, MPH
Director, Public Health Program
Professor, Public Health and Community Medicine
Tufts University School of Medicine

F. Marian Bishop Educator of the Year Award

Christine M. Arcari, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor, Department of Preventive Medicine & Community Health
Robert E. Shope MD Professorship. Infectious Disease Epidemiology.
University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

APTR Special Recognition Award

Matthew L. Boulton, MD, MPH
Editor-in-Chief, American Journal of Preventive Medicine
Senior Associate Dean for Global Public Health
Professor of Epidemiology
Professor of Global Public Health
Professor of Health Management & Policy
Professor of Preventive Medicine
Professor of Internal Medicine, Infectious Disease Division, Michigan Medicine
Director, Preventive Medicine Residency
Associate Director, Behavioral Health Workforce Research Center
University of Michigan School of Public health


The Duncan Clark Award is presented to a senior-level professional with a distinguished record of achievement in the areas of teaching, research and/or advocacy in the field of public health and prevention.  The award is named after the late Dr. Duncan William Clark, MD.  Dr. Clark was a past-president of APTR and the first recipient of this award in 1974.

The F. Marian Bishop Educator of the Year Award is presented to faculty who have contributed to the instruction of students or residents in the field of public health and prevention.  The award is named after the late Dr. Bishop who was Chair of the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine at the University of Utah where she was the first woman chairman in the history of the medical school; first woman Chair of the Board of Governors of the American Journal of Preventive Medicine and the first non-MD president of APTR from 1978-79.  Her contributions are numerous to the discipline of preventive medicine

The Special Recognition Award recognizes an individual agency, or organization that has provided outstanding service to the Association, its members or to the field of prevention and public health.

1001 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 610  |  Washington, DC 20036

About APTR | Membership | Education Fund